Home

I could tell you that I don’t tan, but the more accurate statement is that I can’t tan. My dad is exactly the same way. The best we can do is get a little less pale, and even that is only after a period of sunburn. Needless to say, I’m an expert on sunscreen. Want to know the difference between avobenzone, titanium dioxide, clear zinc, and mexoryl? I’m your chick. Want to know if there’s a difference between La Roche-Posay Anthelios you can buy in the states versus what’s available in Europe, and which one is better? Just ask.

My dad’s SPF of choice is a baseball cap. Should he forgot to wear his SPF, the top of his bald head will fry. I’m thinking maybe Dad should give Evil Bald Guy Scalp Sunscreen a go. Granted, he’s not exactly evil, but he’s definitely a BALDwin brother. Plus, they have really clever ads. And I like really clever ads.
.
.
Oh and I know you’re wondering, but is it good sunscreen? Just based on the ingredients and never having actually seen the product for myself, I’d give it a thumbs up. It’s a combination chemical/physical sunscreen. If you’re not a chemical sunscreen person, you may want to pass on this one. The chemical part of the sunscreen is avobenzone 2.00%, octyl methoxycinnamate 7.5%, oxybenzone 4.00%. There’s been some controversy as to the photostability of avobenzone, but that may not matter in this formulation since the physical side of this sunscreen is a whopping 10% zinc oxide. The only question is whether or not it’s clear or micronized zinc — translation, will your head have a white cast after applying it.

See I told you I was a sunscreen geek. ; )

Leave a Reply

